top of page
Search
  • hopedobrzynski

Why Are Multivitamins So Extra?

I love my Kirkland Organic Multivitamin from Costco, truly. It seems appropriately priced and overall I feel great! Everything is fantastic... but... my very first time urinating after that vitamin is the brightest of yellows, as though I have pissed actual sunshine. At first I loved that analogy and every time I peed, it gave me a genuine smile and a warm chuckle. Not all that pees is gold, and over time it lost its luster. I started to question, why does this even happen? The body will remove excess vitamins from the body through the urine, causing this bright color, but then why are my vitamins overly filled with certain vitamins and not others?


So now I have to read the back of my vitamin bottle and it just does not make a heap of sense. For half of the vitamins I am getting anywhere from 150% to 600% of my DV%, Daily Vitamin %. Then for minerals like calcium, this vitamin has >1%. Some vitamins and minerals should be absorbed through our diets, so I understand why some are less than one hundred percent. However, I do not understand why some are so high. Do they know I forgot to take it some days? Is this similar to what drug companies due with prescriptions and they're just slowing killing me?

I took to the internet and the internet says it's because our bodies won't absorb all of that anyway. That's more confusing. It's took much and our body won't absorb all of this, then why I taking it? I don't have the perfect diet, but I eat healthy. I drink and I smoke. I'm a human. Maybe I should be more concerned about this multivitamin than the weed and the alcohol -- only one changes the color of my urine.


Ultimately, multivitamins are doing too much, whether good or bad, and this is just something else we need to rethink. Multivitamins, or the concept of getting a 100% dietary value supplement to remain at peak health, needs to be reshaped. It's one of those things we've just always done it this way, and I think reimagining this might be a tad more important than newer iPhones and self-driving cares. An ode to reimagining the multivitamin! #AnOde #MultivitaminsAreExtra #TooMuch #OverDone #SunshinePee #WhoWillChangeTheVitamin





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page