top of page
Search
  • hopedobrzynski

When A Woman Shaves Her Head

I grew up regularly getting haircuts and choosing hairstyles. As a young girl, this is normal. I often wanted a mohawk or to shave my head completely, but I was told those were only for boys. I learned that was bullshit. Boys don't have special heads for this style choices, and why do they get cool options and young girls don't? I had long hair growing up, which required a lot of maintenance and upkeep from me and my mom. I remember one specific instance in third grade when I stopped brushing my hair for a few weeks, maybe months. I told my mom I was, but I was just patting it down with water. No one noticed until it was too late -- I had a full dreadlock on the side of my head that took over two hours to comb out and a heck of a lot of deep conditioner. I learned my lesson and I've brushed my hair ever since.

I've always admired women with short hair and there are so many benefits.

As previously noted, boys and men can shave their heads whenever they want and more times than not it is completely acceptable and professional. How convenient. For women, there are specific reasons why society thinks a woman has shaved her head. 1. She must be having a mental breakdown #Britney and I cannot believe how we've tricked ourselves to think that if they have a penis they can shave your head whenever they want, but if they have a vagina, they must be out of their goddamn mind. Who the fuck made that up?!? 2. She must be sick, and specifically, with cancer. Again, why would a person assume this? The presumptions continue, and they're all silly.

Women shave their heads for all types of reasons, and some are even similar to men. Reasons like "just cause", and for some reason women are questioned more on that choice while men are not. Shaving my head was cathartic and freeing, and no wonder men think they're the shit when they're able to have this emotional releases whenever they want without considering society. Before I shaved my head, I had to consider things like employment and overall movement in society, and with the pandemic seeming to get a worse this winter, what a great time to hunker down and shave my head. A man would never have to even consider this.

Women often shave their heads because of the damage that's been done to from the years of ironing and teasing it, which if you enjoy doing this, should have the right and comfort to shave your own head. Gender norms are absolutely silly, and it is time we start eliminating them all together.

Similar to a previous post made about women shaving their legs and underarms, shaving one's head requires minimal effort and maintenance for weeks! Additionally, less shampoo and haircare products putting a few coins back in the purse. Not to mention, this is after a haircut that cost zero dollars. Above all, time -- with a shaved head, a person doesn't need to give two shits about if their hair is washed or looks good or any of that, amounting in countless hours returned to her. An ode to the shaved head!


Lastly, and maybe equally as important as everything listed above, shaving your head is fun! It's liberating and allows for silliness. I shaved a bird's nest into my head and then a mullet, and I truly enjoyed the entire act from start to finish. The feel of my hair cascading down like feathers tickled my inner child that always wanted to do this.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page