top of page
Search
  • hopedobrzynski

I May Be a Musical L-B-T-Q-Genius

There are so few generations where brand new music or formations come from. We've already had girl groups and boy bands, solo artists and collaborators, "this person" and their group, but I want something new. I want something I haven't seen before, and if I'm being frank although we all know I am Hope, I want something specifically that I can relate to. I want a lesbian version of the boy band. I want five lesbians of variety: butch, femme, tomboy, athletic, and boy babe. I am over BTS, One Direction, and Boyz II Men. What I really want is GNC, No Erection, and M II F. I want something we've never had before because we need it.

Yes, I know that in almost every boy band there was at least one we all questioned, and occasionally, had it right (I am looking at you, Lance). And in those girl groups, there was always one that we thought looked the part, if you know what I mean (yep, that was directly for Sporty Spice). None of that was enough -- I want the whole group rainbow. I want screaming unicorns and butch queens everywhere because that sounds magical.

This may have sounded silly or laughable, but let me be crystal clear why I want this. I want young girls and boys to start seeing queer people in mainstream. How boring to have just boy bands and girl groups, and in terms of harmonies, why are we limiting ourselves? Instead of using the tired, worn out recipe for a music group dating back to the sixties. These groups I am writing about now are inevitable and that makes me excited. We are moving in the direction of inclusivity and fortunately there are too many conservatives in the music industry.

Probably next steps are @diddy should bring #MakingTheBand with this concept of a lesbian boy band -- N*SYNC but with vaginas. Remember A Shot at Love with Tila Tequila? Well this would be even better, possibly uplifting, and truly unlike anything we've ever seen on TV before. Also, maybe this time it is Janelle Monae selecting the members of the band. Just an idea!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page