top of page
Search

Eat Me: Maybe Not Cannibalism, But Sorta?

Normally spouted as a retort to someone's rude or snide comment, "Eat me!", yet versatile enough to also allude to the act of cunnilingus. Ya gotta love language! So, stay with me here, what if we were telling each other this due to a deeper, more animal desire in our self-conscious? Cannibalism is not only still a thing in many parts of the world, but found in our animal kingdoms quite often. Oddly enough, there are no specific laws outlawing cannibalism (I checked).

I wouldn't go out of my way to eat human, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't curious. Meat gets its flavor from all of its fat and savoriness, and there are a few people in the Bible Belt that might be something delicious if I was completely unaware I was eating Duane from Nebraska. Unknowingly consuming this prepared by a seasoned chef could be delectable, and you can't argue with me because none of us have any more experience than the other. Regardless, from an environmentally-conscious perspective, this would be a way to recycle and be less wasteful. Burying people is incredibly harmful to the environment from the beginning of the process with embalming the body to and through burying all of those chemicals into acres of land that could be more green space. I understand that the suggestion of eating people is 100% disrespectful -- I get it and I don't think that's the answer since the internet said eating another human's brain can cause the equivalent of Mad Cow Disease in humans, but burials are not sustainable based on space and environmental impact.

Perhaps humans can be made into dog food or recycled into something that can sustain itself off of us for a change! Wouldn't that be nice? Each bag of dog food could be named after the person that died: a can of Hope or a bag of Nancy. Our dogs could be enjoying femurs and ribs of Henry and Paulette. Ground bones can be a great source of calcium for our cats and dogs or even serve as a great fertilizer. How beautiful would it be for our fruits and vegetables to grow in our recently deceased -- enjoy some Erica Grapes or Bobby Swiss Chard. An ode to recycling our deceased!

This wouldn't be the first time people have done something like recycling their dead. In previous centuries, "human fat was sold as a remedy for broken bones, sprains, and arthritis. Usually, this human fat was rubbed as a balm, not eaten. However, apothecaries regularly stocked fat, flesh, and bone, and there are also examples of a human skull being ground into a fine powder and mixed with liquid to treat epilepsy." according to a fascinating Vox according I read to learn surprising facts about cannibalism. Obviously there are practices we should never bring back from the past, but vinyl records and Winona Ryder came back and that worked out for the better -- this will be the same thing.

Essentially, each time we tell each other "eat me", use those moments after to think about what we can do to preserve our bodies better when we die. (Please share your thoughts!)


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page